CORNWALL FEDERATION OF WOMEN'S INSTITUTES

MEET YOUR TRUSTEES

As you make decisions about nominating for the 2024-26 CFWI Board of Trustees, I thought you may find it helpful to have some details about the women who are serving as your current Trustees for the 2022-24 period. You need not nominate any of the names listed below. You may nominate yourself or another WI member whom you think would be an asset to the Federation.

Rachel Andrews

Rachel Andrews is a member of Mevagissey WI and CyberCats Virtual WI. Before becoming a Trustee, Rachel was Secretary of Mevagissey WI. She has been a member of the Board of Trustees since 2020, and has served as Federation Treasurer since May 2021.

Liz Baker

Liz Baker has been a member of Trevone WI since 2015 and is also a member of CyberCats Virtual WI. Liz was President of Trevone WI from 2018-2023 and joined the Board of Trustees in 2020. She is a member of the Environmental and Public Affairs Sub-Committee, liaising between the Board and Sub-Committee, and is also the CFWI Safeguarding Officer.

Sally Butcher

Sally Butcher first joined the WI in 2013, and was part of the formation of Bodmin Gaolbirds WI, becoming their founding President. In subsequent years, she served on the committee in various roles, and also helped with the organisation and running of their craft club. Since moving to the Newquay area in 2023, Sally has transferred to Lane and District WI, and was elected on to their committee in 2024, taking up the role of Secretary. She joined the Board of Trustees in March 2024.

Grace Bradford

Grace Bradford first joined Perran-ar-Worthal WI where she served as a committee member, Secretary and Treasurer. She then moved to Falmouth WI and served on the committee for many years, later serving as President. In the past, Grace has been Vice-Chair of the former Floral Art and Gardening Sub-Committee. She currently serves as a member of the CFWI Board of Trustees, and has in the past been a member of the Office and Finance Sub-Committee.

Jane Dover

Jane Dover first joined the WI as a member of the Guernsey Federation in 1985. She then became a member of Truro WI in 2008, serving as President and Treasurer. She is currently a member of Ladock WI and CyberCats Virtual WI. Jane has been a CFWI Trustee since 2014, serving as Vice-Chair since 2016. She is a member of the Arts and Leisure Sub-Committee.

Margaret Edgcumbe

Margaret Edgcumbe is a member of Porthleven WI and CyberCats Virtual WI. She joined the WI in 2017, and in 2018 became a committee member. In 2019, she was elected Porthleven WI President, holding this office for three years. In 2021, she was asked to join the Membership Support Sub-Committee with a view to becoming a WI Adviser. Margaret has been a member of the Board of Trustees since September 2023.

Wendy Fiander

Wendy Fiander joined Wilcove WI in 2015 and has served as their Secretary since 2016. She joined the Board of Trustees in 2020 with responsibilities including managing the WI Shop and editing County News.

Margaret Johnson

Margaret Johnson is a member of Bodmin WI. She first joined the WI in 2005 whilst living in Lancashire where she served as her WI Secretary. After moving to Bodmin in 2009 she joined her local WI and again served as Secretary before being elected President. In 2012 she joined the CFWI Activities and Leisure Sub-Committee (now the Arts and Leisure Sub-Committee), and two years later was invited to join the Board of Trustees where she has been ever since. She has served as Vice Chairman and also spent four

years as Federation Chairman. Margaret is currently a Trustee and a member of the Cookery and Craft Sub-Committee.

Helen Kestle

Helen Kestle is a member of Gulval WI and is President of CyberCats Virtual WI. She was previously a member of Crowlas and Ludgvan WI where she served as Secretary and President. She has been a member of the Membership Support Sub-Committee since 2016, appointed a WI Adviser by NFWI in 2017. Helen served as Federation Vice-Chair from 2017-2021, and has been Federation Chair since 2021. She serves on the NFWI Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Member Focus Group and is currently a Member Representative to the NFWI Membership Committee.

Penny Picton

Penny Picton is a member of Illogan WI. She joined the WI in 2012, and became a committee member in 2013. She was elected President of Illogan WI in 2014 and served for three years. Penny is currently Illogan WI Treasurer. Penny is a member of the CFWI Arts and Leisure Sub-Committee and currently serves as Secretary. In 2017, she was appointed to as a Trustee on the CFWI Board of Trustees, and in 2019 was elected Federation Treasurer, a post she held for three years.

Pam Selley

Pam Selley is currently a Vice Chair of CFWI having served on the Board of Trustees since 2016. She is also Vice Chair of the Events Sub-Committee and has co-ordinated the Royal Cornwall Show exhibit for the past seven years. From its formation 11 years ago, Pam was a committee member, Secretary and President of Bodmin Gaolbirds WI. Prior to that, she was a member of Linkinhorne WI where she served as Vice President. She is currently a member of Lanivet WI.

Mary Thompson

Mary Thompson is a member and Treasurer of Lanivet WI. Previously, she was a member of Bodmin Gaolbirds WI where she served as a committee member for five years. Previously, Mary was a member of Edwalton WI, in the Nottinghamshire Federation, where she was President for many years. From 2008, she served on the Nottinghamshire Federation Membership Support Sub-Committee, was appointed a WI Adviser by NFWI in 2009 and served on the Board of Trustees from 2011 to 2017. Following relocation to Cornwall in 2018 she assisted at events, then joined the CFWI Board of Trustees in 2020 and has been on the Membership Support Sub-committee since 2021.

Yvonne Toms is also a Trustee, serving in an ex-officio role as Chair of the Membership Support Team.

Your WI Secretary has full details about making nominations and also has the nomination form.

Nominations should be sent to the Federation Secretary, either by post on CFWI, Chy Noweth an Conteth, Truro Business Park, Threemilestone, Truro TR4 9NH, or by email on secretary@cornwallwi.org.uk. All nomination forms must arrive no later than **Friday 31 May 2024**.

Please mark your envelope or email "Confidential – Trustee nominations".

If a ballot is required for this election (i.e., if there are more nominations than Trustee spaces available), ballot papers will be sent with the July County News mailing. The Board of Trustees for the period 2024-2026 will be announced at the Annual Council Meeting to be held at the Hall for Cornwall, Truro, on 23 October 2024.

Yours sincerely,

Julia Pascoe Federation Secretary